Photo Diary From Chiang Mai

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well it’s been a loong, quite an eventful while. The last time I wrote was before I left for my Southeast Asia journey and now here I am, back in Finland, on my very own couch. Lots of things have changed over the past two months, biggest of them being me. There are hundreds of aspects from which I could write about this trip, but I thought that first the simplest thing would be to just split the trip in parts and introduce the places I went to. So, I thought I’d do a little series since many people have been asking for something like that: first Chiang Mai, then Laos, Vietnam, Malaysia and Indonesia.

I thought I’d keep Chiang Mai as a photo diary-based piece for a few reasons. First of all, it was just such an interesting and pretty place to photograph. Second, Chiang Mai was my first week so for half of that I was just very tired from the traveling and the second half otherwise a bit lost and starting to get used to the whole idea of being on the road. Trust me it took some time… But that’s exactly the reason why I’m so glad it was my first stop. So that also meant that I didn’t “do” that much, I just did a lot of wandering around, eating and sleeping my jetlag off, as well as some trip-planning since my plans were very open.

Chiang Mai is a fairly “easy” city and felt like a soft landing I guess with lots of other travelers and it’s very easy to get around in. It also had one of the best food scenes, especially smoothie/vegan-wise 🙂 For anyone who’s going there and in need of some good places to eat, check out Ratmakka Rd, especially Dada Kafe and Taste of Heaven (their vegan brownie is the best). Also Ratchadamnoen Soi 5, a little alley, full of really cute places to eat with raw and vegan food and ice cream. Also the temples are maybe one of the prettiest I saw on my entire trip and there’s SO MANY of them! You don’t have to look for them, you’ll just suddenly realise you’re stadning in front of (or in) one when you’re walking. So much gold it’s going to make your eyes squint. Things that also happened: too much Pad Thai, getting lost on the alleys at least four times a day, trying to squeeze through the incredible crowds at night markets, walking past a snake that apparently could kill me and having the biggest mosquito bites on the whole trip (the first ones are always the worst). Okay I’ll just let the pictures do the talking now since I wanted this one to be about them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Elephant Nature Park was by far one of my favorite experiences on the whole trip. It’s a home for rescued elephants from for example logging, circuses, riding companies and other abusing environments. It creates a free, wild-like environment for them and also takes care of homeless dogs and cats. It’s funny how at the same time it was such an happy experience, seeing how well they are taken care of now but also hearing the heartbreaking stories behind them. One of them was blinded by circus and camera lights, another one cannot use one of his legs because he stepped on a landmine while illegally working in Myanmar and some have trouble walking because of the damages riding them has done. If I could only make every tourist considering riding elephants or going to see them on circuses etc. go there and see what these people do it would be a different world for these incredibly intelligent animals. I would probably travel to Chiang Mai only for this and cannot recommend the place highly enough. They have different sort of visits, I did the one-day but you can also volunteer: https://www.elephantnaturepark.org

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
These next ones are from a day trip to Doi Inthanon National Park, also the home for Thailand’s highest mountain. And some rice fields, pretty waterfalls and curious kids from some nearby villages. And puppies!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Photo Diary From Chiang Mai

  1. darshanakoirala March 10, 2017 / 3:38 am

    I like the pictures you took! Also, love the Elephant Nature Park – happy to hear that the Elephants and other animals (dogs and cats) are taken care of well over there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

