Shots Of San Francisco

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are many ways to describe this amazing city but for me it was one long time dream come true. Ever since when I first saw pictures of the Golden Gate and shimmering sea yeeears and years ago I remember thinking that I just have to see that some day. And when lots of people when talking about California say they want to see LA and Hollywood and all that jazz, I was never truly interested. I somehow knew I’d like San Francisco, that it would be my kind of place. And it was.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A thing that stunned me the most was how incredibly photogenic the whole place was. Maybe it’s the possibly prettiest houses I’ve ever seen, the ever-so mysterious fog that comes out of nowhere and wraps everything around itself or just the sea that hugs the city in a really extraordinary way. I don’t know, but that’s how I got the idea of telling about this trip mainly through photos, a bit like I did with Capri.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What served as our home was the beautiful neighborhood of Noe Valley, just next to (I feel like no one really knows where the line is) the Castro, which is one of the places where the LGBT-rights movement started in the 1960s so it holds lots of historical value and is a really remarkable and cool area. I obviously don’t have a lot to compare to but I felt like Noe Valley was the perfect choice. It was just a muni (metro/cable car system) ride away from the downtown and the seaside areas but far enough to make it feel like a little town of its own. So quiet yet lively place with children and dogs running free which is always a good sign.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One highlight was visiting this old cinema, known as really the heart of Castro. Immediately when I saw they were showing Casablanca I decided I had to go, it’s one of my favorite movies of all time. The cinema was so stunning from the inside that it made me feel like I’m in an old movie myself.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Castro Street

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yet another Chinatown to add to my list. I feel like Chinatowns are one of those things that big cities have in common, no matter where you go the Chinatown seems to remain quite the same. In San Francisco it was exceptionally big, I got lost at least five times and started walking the street to the wrong direction.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thing I really loved were the murals that the city is famous for! It’s amazing what they do to the general appeal of the city, just make it so much colorful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Peter Macchiarini steps were one of the first ones we climbed and it was the place where it really struck me how insanely many hills the city has and how incredibly steep they are! It was so funny, the cars often had to be parked sideways and as you can see often instead of a sidewalk there are steps. It’s like before there was a city the landscape had shouted “people should NOT build a house and live here” yet they did. Result: funny-looking houses and amazing views. And almost a heart attack for me when we parked our rented car onto our super steep home street and started to drive downhill the next morning. I honestly felt as if I was in a rollercoaster going downwards. Geez, the chills I had.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View towards downtown, with Transamerica Pyramid standing out
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Peter Macchiarani Steps
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This is 22nd street, San Francisco’s steepest street. It was very close to where we stayed in Noe Valley but we somehow found this out on the last day and rushed to see it. Feel like biking this down?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Riding an old cable car

I feel lke half of the neighborhoods in SF are hills: Russian Hill, Nob Hill and then there’s Telegraph Hill which you can see in the picture down below. On top of it is Coit Tower where we kind of randomly wandered. The views were speechless and the tower’s design was so unique.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I love visiting towers, skyscrapers, any places with impressive views really. Not just because of the views but because of people’s “wooow”-faces. They get so excited, like kids, and stop to admire something for a second and I think that’s so great.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Filbert Steps are literally steps leading down from the Coit Tower but the cool thing is it’s like an urban jungle, surrounded by trees and houses with some of the coolest views to the sea.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Laurel, the fattest cat I’ve ever seen.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Filbert Steps is famous for the parrots that live there! I tried to teach them to curse in Finnish. Didn’t work.

One of my favorite places in the whole city was Ocean Beach. Facing the Pacific Ocean, it definitely wasn’t the sunny beach you’d expect California to have. The wind was so hard! There were some hardcore surfers surfing in their wetsuits and it was very funny to watch when you were freezing on the shore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This dog kept coming to me with a ball to throw it for her

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
There was this pier in the feet of the Golden Gate and suddenly a sea lion appeared! I lovelovelove seals so I got overly excited. The pier was full of fishermen and the seal really seemed like he wasn’t there for the first time: he basically swam around the pier many times and stopped on every fisherman to see if he could get any fish. There’s just something about seals that make me so happy, especially when they are free.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
We also visited Fort Point, an old seacoast fortification literally under Golden Gate Bridge. It may have just been the coldest place I’ve ever been to. The wind was so hard I honestly thought it was gonna take the camera from my neck and eventually me with it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One other favorite was the Coastal Trail, a hiking trail that goes right by the shore from Golden Gate to Ocean Beach, offering some pretty epic Pacific views. It was like the best nature trail you’ve ever taken, almost in the middle of a major city. Its highlight is Land’s End. It was one of those places that really take your breath away, as cliche as that sounds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Land’s end

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another amazing beach! We ended up at Baker Beach again, very accidentally, by walking through a very beutiful and kind of posh neighborhood right by the sea, it felt like the Upper East Side of San Francisco. And watching the evening fall and wrap the bridge around it was really something quite surreal.

We also did two day trips. I called them Roadtrip North and Roadtrip South. Started with north, when we attempted to go to Muir Woods (a famous redwood forest) but after maybe half an hour of circling in the parking lot without finding a single place we thought that this can’t be worth it, let’s save it for the next time (one of my travel mottos, always leave something if/when you come back 😉 ). Then we ended up driving around Napa Valley and Sonoma Valley, where we stopped by the cute tiny tiny town of Sonoma. Continuing to Berkeley since my dad wanted to see the campus (I just got studying anxiety, I’m not ready to go back studying yet) and from there to Sausalito, which was such a cute little seaside town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Driving in Sonoma Valley
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sonoma
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
San Francisco seen from Sausalito
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
There you can see Angel Island, of which more later

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
We drove home via Battery Spencer, a viewpoint where you can get really close to the Golden Gate. The fog kept floating above us and the bridge’s towers and it was raining just a little bit, making the whole athmosphere kind of eerie. It felt like the beginning of some horror movie, but a very beautiful one.

Then it was day North. We pretty much had no plan other than heading to Highway 1 or Pacific Highway or whatever you want to call the famous scenic route on the California coast. That too, had been a dream of mine for quite some time and I honestly think it’s one of the most beautiful roads I’ve ever been to. We were supposed to drive to Monterey and back but got stuck to some terrible traffic jams along the way so we decided to turn back maybe 40 miles before it, because I wanted to stop in the way back to take some pictures while it was still light. I do not know what it is with these pictures and these views, but somehow the colors are so appealing to me, I put this one below as my screensaver and it just calms me so much. That’s what our roadtrip was, not so adventorous, just driving and when I saw a beautiful place we turned over and I photographed. And then repeat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One longer stop was Half Moon Bay. The name is as lovely as the place. Erosion has shaped the cliffs in such distinctive formations. And there happened something I’ll never forget, I SAW WHALES!!! Fine, just the their backs and when they sprayed water but still. They were most likely humpback whales since I later heard that they are common there but they could be grey whales as well. Anyways, not important. I was photographing and walking along the beach when my dad started waving at me and I thought that there were sea lions since we had seen them on the way. Two whales, he said, they are really close. For some reason all marine life excites me especially much as you can probably tell from my love for seals, so I got overly excited, just jumping on the beach. I waited for maybe 10 minutes and saw them, super quickly coming up for air, and then disappearing again. They circled in the bay for around half an hour, but I didn’t manage to get a picture since they blended in so well and were so fast. I’ve never seen whales so this was really such a big moment for me 😀 The last time I was so excited was probably when I saw dolphins in Key West. I don’t know, I feel so strongly towards all marine animals.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Spot the horse

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Stopping to eat in Davenport, and I rushed off with a camera to the cliffs, again.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ahhh this was so thrilling
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This picture demonstrates just how quickly the weather changes there. It’s all sun and summer and then you drive 10 minutes and it’s this. Didn’t stop the surfers though and there were some really good waves. It was so nice to watch because some of them just made it look so easy. I also decided I’m going to learn to surf one day. It just looks like something I’d enjoy.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And then the weather changes to this. This was truly one of the most beautiful moments, seeing the sun shine into the ocean from the cracks in the clouds. And you could see that it wasn’t just any sea, it was the Pacific and it really seemed endless.

One long-awaited highlight for me was visiting Alcatraz. We went on a tour that also stopped on Angel Island, a beautiful national park with amazing views to San Francisco Bay and the surrounding area. Alcatraz was so not what I expected. We visited the inside of the prison which was an overwhelming experience itself but what I really was fascinated by was the sleepy athmosphere that the island had, it really felt like the time had stopped. The federal prison closed on 1963 and after that it has more or less served no purpose other than later as a National History Landmark. It has basically been left to kind of “go wild”. It’s home to dozens of seabirds (honestly, they were everywhere) and lots of beautiful plantations, some of the gardens planted by the prisoners. Because of the wind and rain (it’s basically in the middle of the windy bay) lots of the buildings have collapsed and on many places the nature had took over: I saw birds nesting in some old ruins and flowers growing from cracks in the sement. I wasn’t expecting it but despite or because of it’s kind of dark history, it seemed to have this rugged beauty in it. I felt like I could have walked there with a camera for hours and maybe some of these pictures make you understand what I mean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bambis on Angel Island
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Coming to Alcatraz
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
There were these funny birds that looked like penguins

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Freedom from a distance, seen from the prisoners’ recreation yard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Angel Island seen from Alcatraz

We lived right in the feet of Twin Peaks, two little peaks looking over San Francisco. We tried climbing them twice but this is where the weather steps in. Never have I ever been in a place where the weather changes so quickly and oddly. It was honestly blue clear skies when we started the walk there and exactly 10 minutes later it’s like a different place! I have no freaking clue where the weird clouds (?) also known as the famous fog comes but suddenly it feels like you’re walking inside of a cloud. 10 minutes later!! And sometimes it changed even faster, it happened in the city as well. You have a t-shirt on and then the sun disappears behind some suddenly appearing cloud and it’s officially 10 degrees cloder amd you’re looking for your fall jacket. The whole city itself had such a weird climate of its own. Also when we drove north to Napa and Sonoma, it was 16 C in SF, then 40 minutes of driving and it was 26. It’s amazing. Well anyways, back to the Twin Peaks. We went there twice and the same thing happened, once we reached the top the visibiltity had gone to zero. I found it so funny and kind of cool but my dad was so frustrated about it and our bad luck.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
There they are! Our airbnb house is there kind of in the middle
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
On our way and some clouds already appearing out of nowhere
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The way to the unknown, literally
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One of my favorite pictures on the trip, featuring some random guy. It looks like he’s sitting in the edge of nothing.

But I was not willing to give up. On the same night I was for some reason full of energy and decided to give it another shot. So I put my sneakers on and headed to the dark night with a Google Maps route on my phone since I found out there was an easier way to get there with this path consisting of different stairways up the hill. I decided I was going to make this an adventure despite being a little terrified of getting lost because of my terrible sense of direction. I climbed maybe over 300 stairs but they didn’t feel like anything since the adrenalin high. I was so thrilled, the higher I got the prettier it was and I was determined to get there before the clouds. Ahh the feeling when I made it to the top! This adrenalin-Julia is like a different person. I often feel that when I’m somewhere high up, seeing something I’ve never seen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
There’s something about shining city lights that I find extremely beautiful and hypnotic

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

San Francisco was so good to me, in so many ways. The atmosphere is so tolerant and laid back which made it stand out from some other major cities. It felt like a little hippie town, a metropolis with skyscrapers, a quiet suburban area and a relaxed beach town all at once and a mixture of them all made it really extraordinary. It didn’t feel half as rushed and busy as some other big cities I’ve seen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The hippie mecca of Haight-Ashbury. I remember so vividly how it smelled when I took this picture, it was a mixture of waffles (from a cute shop nearby), city dust and weed.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Not gonna lie, probably the highlight of my trip. The famous pier 39 in Fisherman’s Wharf, the harbor area. California sea lions have completely habitated these docks that are nowadays reserved for them, except some private ones next to them (although I saw a couple seals rebelliously hanging out there as well 😀 ) Also, you gotta love the half-circle that they have formed in the front dock. AHHH I mean look at them, how can you not love them?!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
North Beach, with isn’t a beach but an Italian neighborhood, also known as Little Italy. City Lights Bookstore is a historical bookstore with an amazing collection, I finally found a Roald Dahl collection and I became very happy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Who wants to get a house?

Also, it didn’t seem to matter who you were, what you did for a living, where you came from or who you were with and that kind of very liberal athmosphere made me feel like home. It is a very exceptional city and also a little bit odd, it but it seemed to be extremely proud of it. Also, talking to some locals there it became very clear to me that the people who lived there truly liked calling it a home. And I really don’t wander why.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love,

Julia xxx

Leave a Reply

