Blueberry-Cardamom Raw Cake

IMG_0020

Very rarely you can describe your life with one word but now I can: studying. That’s what it has been for over a month, 24/7, and FINALLY last week it came to an end. I’d like to say to a bittersweet end but it was basically just oh so sweet. So to all my fellow students: YEESSSS (*insert uncontrollable screaming) we did it! Good job us 🙂 Now is the hardest part really, waiting for the exam results to come. What the exams left behind was a sleep deprived, not well looking girl in the same clothes as she was seen weeks before and a room that looked like it had been hit by a hurricane, with piles of books, clothes and papers. But luckily it’s all sorted now so I can just occupy myself with other fun stuff, like cakes!

IMG_0007

I made this first last summer for my 18th birthday party and people really liked it. So much that there was none left for me to eat later after the party, I know, disappointing. And I think someone asked for the recipe and I just said: ”Oh yeah, I’m going to put it on the blog really soon!” Sure I did. Then I did this for the last day of school- party I held and again someone asked for the recipe and now I actually had written down the ingredients etc. while baking and again said, it’s going to be on the blog. So now it finally is.

IMG_0051
It really wasn’t a wise move to put these few photos from last summer here, now I began to miss summer.

When it comes to combos, blueberry and cardamom is one of my all time favorites. I’ve used it for long in for example smoothies (the best!!) and homemade ice creams. This is perfect for any spring parties, it’s so fresh and sweet at the same time. I’m having a terrible time trying to decide what cakes to make for my graduation party and this is one strong candidate. But if you have some kick-ass raw cake (or any cake really, hah) recipes hiding somewhere, let me know! And yes, I may just use this graduation party as an excuse to make more cakes.

IMG_0032

IMG_0043

Blueberry-Cardamom Raw Cake

For the base:
1 cup of nuts, I used almonds and walnuts mixed
0.5 cup of mulberries
7 fresh dates
2 tbs of agave syrup (or honey)

The filling:
1.5 cups of blueberries (frozen or if melted, try to drain the juice so that the cake won’t be too moist and it will stay in shape)
1.5 cups of cashew nuts, soaked in water for a few hours or preferrably overnight
5 fresh dates
2 tbs agave syrup
0.3 cup (3/4 dl) of melted coconut oil
1 tsp of vanilla extract
2 tsp of cardamom

Mix all ingredients for the base in blender/food processor until smooth. Spread it evenly into a cake tray and put into a fridge.

In the meantime, put all of your filling ingredients into a blender and blend until it’s veeeery smooth. This might take a while but you can stir it a little every now and then so that there aren’t any chunks left. Taste it and add for example cardamom if you prefer. Then spread it on top of the base into the cake tray and decorate if you want to. Put into a freezer to set up, should take a few hours. I think it’s best when it’s served only partly melted, so that it tastes a bit like ice cream 😉

IMG_0093

Love,

Julia xxx

One thought on “Blueberry-Cardamom Raw Cake

Leave a Reply

