Vegan Apple Crumble

IMG_9958

… and some good music! But I’ll get to that later.

This is hands down my newest obsession. Why now, I have no idea. I feel like Apple Crumble is a classic, and for me brings many many memories from my childhood. I also think there are as many versions of this yummy thing as there are its makers, but this is very close to the one I’ve used to know. And I feel that the combo that makes it is somehow so sacred I didn’t want to change the recipe too much, now it’s just plant based but otherwise authentic, at least as I know it.

IMG_9942

And the vanilla ice cream, oh dear, it’s too good. Any vanilla ice cream works but my personal favorite is the one from Oatly, from oats, naturally. And at least from the stores I’ve bought this, it’s not at all pricey like some other plantbased ice creams often are. So if you’re looking for a plantbased alternative, I can definitely recommend it: tastes so natural and all my friends who don’t usually eat vegan ice creams have all liked it and some couldn’t even tell the difference.

IMG_9960

Also, I don’t know if it’s a good or a bad thing but this thing actually isn’t that filling, so I’ve eaten it a LOT at a time, whoops, half of the baking tray was gone 😀 And when I’ve made this with friends, it has also disappeared remarkably fast. So that’s why the “4-6 people” is veery average, asked mom her opinion on how many portions there are and we really didn’t come to any proper conclusion. Depends on how much you eat and we both eat a lot, haha. But hey it’s mainly apples and apples are like 90 % water so… See the logic? 😉

IMG_9950

Vegan Apple Crumble

for 4-6 people (depending how much you eat 😉 )

3 green apples (Granny Smith is da best)

4 dl of rolled oats OR 4-grain-flakes (a mix of oat, barley, rye and wheat)

1 heaped tsp of cinnamon

1 tsp of cardamom

1 tsp of vanilla powder (or extract)

0,5 dl of coconut oil 

1 tbls of coconut sugar (or any sugar)

2 tbls of agave syrup (or honey if not vegan)

a handful of pecans

Peel the apples and remove the core and the seeds. Chop them into quite thin chunks and set into an oven tray. Add some pecans there in between the apples.

Melt the coconut oil in warm water. Mix well together the oats, spices, agave syrup, sugar and oil. Cover the apples well with the mix and bake in an oven in 200 celsius degrees for about 20 minutes or until it’s quite brown and when tried with a toothpick, the apples feel soft.

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream. Or sauce or whatevs.

IMG_9926

IMG_9944

Now, completely off topic but oh my gosh, I found some great new music! I feel like truly good and distinguished, off-mainstream music comes so rarely these days, at least for someone who prefers old, jazz and soul kind of music, so that’s why I was pleasantly shocked when I heard this song called Smooth Sailin’ by Leon Bridges. And then I went and listened to his album Coming Home and oh my my my, finally something good and different! Been listening to him non stop for days now (may be even now when I’m writing and when I was baking) and you should check him out! Especially if you’re into this very groovy, old time, blues kind of thingy. Well that was a fun expression. Here’s a couple good ones but the rest is amazing as well!

 

Love,

Julia xxx

Leave a Reply

