The Sweetest Sweet Potato Fries

IMG_2947

Oh sweet potato. Why are you so addicting and in my opinion far too little used? I was supposed to just try making some fries one Saturday night but no, it turned out not to be just a one time thing. Now I find myself in the supermarket looking for a perfectly shaped you like every other day. Today my sister said “Julia, are you making those again?” But I can’t help it, you’re just better every time I try.

IMG_2964

Oh and sorry for the pun in the heading, I simply couldn’t resist 😀 But really, sweet potato is one of the most versatile veggies I know. It can be used in pots, currys, even desserts and purely on its own. It’s also very high in vitamin A and beta carotene, overall nutritionally quite rich, for example compared to a normal potato.

And then there are THE FRIES! I had had those in restaurants or take away places before but hadn’t really tried making them on my own until a while back. Basically all restaurants that I know of make theirs by cooking them in oil but the whole idea of it was very unappealing to me. So much oil would go to waste and (in my case since I’m not that organized in kitchen) it would end up with something getting burnt; the potatoes or me. So oven it was then.

That turned out to be trickier than I expected. Until now I have failed quite many times in some way, or not failed since the taste has been gooood, but they haven’t turned out to be as crispy as I would have wanted, instead they were at first a little too soft and soggy. But by trying different heat, order in making them and playing with olive oil I finally succeeded in making them somewhat crispy, I mean you can’t expect them to be exactly the same than the ones cooked in oil. But I guarantee you, these taste just as good. 

These are also so easy to adjust to your own taste. There really isn’t a limit on spices you could use. I have been using paprika but turmeric, garlic, pepper or cumin for example or some of them mixed would be great as well! Also other oils like sesame would work fine I think, I just personally love olive oil. AND the choices for dips are eternal as well. I think a yoghurt-based dip is a match made in heaven with these and I like to season it very lightly, usually just with pepper. You could also use some fresh herbs, I just topped it with thyme this time but I’ll probably experiment more in the future.

IMG_2944
Seasoning them in the baking sheet after being in the oven

So without further ado, here are my recipe and some tricks how to succeed:

Sweet potato fries

for about two

one medium to large sweet potato

olive oil

spice(s) like paprika etc.

salt

For the dip:

a few tbls of natural yoghurt (any plant based alternative is fine)

some black pepper

optional: a few drops of lemon juice and olive oil

Heat your oven to 230 degrees celsius. Begin by peeling your potato and then chopping it into fries, you can choose the size but too big ones are harder to get crispy so here’s some idea how to do it:

IMG_2937
First cut it lengthwise into two halves. Then cut those into these sort of slices…
IMG_2938
… and then cut those into sticks, they could even be a bit smaller than mine here.

Put them in a large bowl and add a little olive oil, for one potato 1-2 tbls should be okay. Mix them up with your hands so the oil covers the potatoes evenly. Add it just a little first, you want them all to be covered BUT do not soak them since that will make them soggy. So just as much as it takes to  get them a little oily but that’s it, be careful with the oil 😉 And we won’t season them now, since the salt can make them soggy as well, so now put them evenly into a baking sheet. And then the most crucial part about this whole (very serious) process 😉 DO NOT overcrowd them!!! If they can’t fit into one sheet then make them in parts, since it’s very important that they are not touching so that they can dry and get crispier.

Trying not to make any touch each other.

Then place them in the oven and turn them about half way through. They should be there about 25-30 minutes but be sure to check at them regularly so that they don’t get burnt. Basically the longer you can keep them there without them burning, the better.

Take out of the oven and let cool for a minute so that you can touch them without getting your hands burned. Then get your salt and spices and drizzle them all over the baking sheet. Mix with your hands and repeat, so that they get evenly covered in spices. I didn’t measure the spices (as usual I’m sorry 🙂 ) but this is up to you how spicy and salty you want the to be, that’s why I recommend tasting.

Then mix all the dip ingredients and enjoy, preferably when they are warm.

IMG_2950

And bear in mind, these are the sort of food that the result will vary from time to time, depending on the sweet potato, how your oven is like etc. so if you don’t get them right the first time, just try again! They get better every time, I promise 😉

IMG_2966

Love,

Julia xxx

P.S. The autumn break here in my school in Finland starts after tomorrow and I’m leaving to Capri, Italy, for a week with my family! Needless to say I’m excited af. So when I get back I’ll do a post with lots of pictures and all that jazz since I’ve heard it’s like one of the prettiest places in the world 🙂 Enjoy your break if you’re a student in Finland or if not, just enjoy life in general! ❤

5 thoughts on “The Sweetest Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Paula Brown October 11, 2015 / 5:03 am

    You reminded me of how good these are! I will look forward to your photos from Italy.😊 Have a great trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia B. October 27, 2015 / 12:11 am

      Sorry for replaying so late!! I’ve been terribly busy after my trip but post about Capri will finally go up probably tomorrow, I hope you’ll enjoy it 🙂 And those fries are really the best!! ❤

      Like

    • Julia B. October 27, 2015 / 12:13 am

      Thank you so much and you’re welcome for the recipe!! ❤ And sorry for a late reply… Your recipes look so luscious as well! 🙂

      Like

      • Tifness October 28, 2015 / 1:16 am

        no problem! 🙂 I tried it out and it’s SO GOOD! never knew sweet potato fries would be that sweet, yum! thanks again! oh and btw I made a facebook page http://www.facebook.com/tifness it would mean so much if you check it out and tell me what you think! thank you! hope you’re having an amazing day! ❤ xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

