My 18th Birthday

IMG_0025

Hello again!!

I’ve been away for quite a while, I was babysitting for three weeks and it didn’t really leave much time for writing. But now that’s done and I’m on a proper holiday, yay! And as some may know, I had my birthday on July 4th.

I’ve always celebrated my birthday by throwing a garden party, mainly because the weather so miraculously is always good on that day and because I just love our garden. There has been a gap of few years now when I have done something else but now as I turned 18 I decided to throw one again. And since I am moving away from this house this was a bit like a farewell party as well. Earlier in the day some relatives and family friends came over and in the evening five of my oldest and dearest friends came to celebrate with me.

I ususally don’t fully believe the “a picture tells more than a thousand words”- expression, I just think they tell different things. But in this case, I think they tell all the things that matter. Many of these, especially the ones of me and my friends, were taken by my beautiful and tremendously talented friend Ella (that blonde with a white t-shirt in the pics) who is an amazing photographer and runs her own blog  here (it’s in Finnish but go look at it even if you don’t know the language) Thank you once again love for these ❤ And Liida, who is the girl with the white flower in her hair, runs a  wonderful vintage blog, and that you can find here.

So here are some pictures, hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

IMG_9832

IMG_9829
My own hummus
IMG_9827
This is the best couscous I’ve ever had, it’s heavenly. It’s a bit North African stylish with Rash El Hanout carrots, feta cheese, pomegranate and some amazing spices.
IMG_9860
That’s some smoked salmon pie in the left in case you were wondering.

IMG_9834

IMG_9830
Guacamole
IMG_9843
My mom came up with this magic punch (alcohol-free) years ago on one of my birthdays and it’s been like a tradition on our garden parties ever since. I don’t remember one person who wouldn’t have liked it. I can tell that it includes rhubarb juice but that’s all, the rest is secret 😉
IMG_9903
I got so many gorgeous flowers and here are just a few.

IMG_9905

IMG_9908
Since I don’t drink any alcohol but still wanted something fancier to drink, this was perfect. One bottle was once given to us but we liked it so much we got like 6 bottles for my birthday. It’s super good, not at all sweet, juice-like drink, it tastes very much like a sparkling wine. Here in Finland you can find these at Alko.

IMG_9911

IMG_9926

IMG_9915

IMG_0046

IMG_0071
My very own blueberry cardamom raw cake. The recipe is coming here soon.
IMG_0074
The recipe for this killer raspberry cashew raw cake is by Hannah aka My New Roots and you can find it at her website.
IMG_9894
Meringues are another one of my specialities, I’ve made them for my birthdays since forever.
IMG_9897
Fruits and some truffles from a local sweet factory Brunberg.
IMG_9896
I don’t think it’s a birthday without some good old mud cake.
IMG_9899
Me being very proud of my food 😀

IMG_9902

IMG_0087

IMG_9957

IMG_9965

IMG_9969

IMG_9972

IMG_0038

IMG_0044

IMG_0095

IMG_0033

IMG_0107
Soulsisters

IMG_0110

IMG_0123

IMG_0132

IMG_0140

IMG_9982

IMG_0021

IMG_0013

IMG_0002

IMG_0023

IMG_0015

I believe that we are very much who we are with and me growing up with these girls feels for me like one of the luckiest things in my life. I wouldn’t believe that so much love could fit into a girl this little but because of you I feel like I have so much love in me. So thank you for coming to celebrate and laugh with me one last time in this home, it means more than the world for me ❤

IMG_0018

Love,

Julia xxx

P.S. Oh, and we made all food ourselves so I feel like I should thank my mom for helping me with that, she’s a witch when it comes to getting things done quickly. Love you.

2 thoughts on “My 18th Birthday

    • Julia B. July 6, 2015 / 12:13 pm

      Thank you so much Anna! ❤ I did have a wonderful time, it was a gorgeous day. Hope you're having a nice summer! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

