And now I live again

IMG_8756

Hello you all!

So my holiday has started which means it’s officially summer here in Finland, yay! Even though I wouldn’t mind if it was a bit warmer. Still, even if it’s a bit cold but I can see the sun, it’s like I’m a different person. I’m like those animals that sleep in the winter, now I have waken up. This really just proves that the Finnish climate is not suitable for me, I do think my soul is from elsewhere.

So a couple of weeks ago I was visiting my grandma in Turku and we spent a lot of time outdoors since she lives by the sea and surrounded by nature. There is also this conservation area that I’ve visited before and as always it was so beautiful and peaceful. It was that moment when it’s the end of spring but still not quite summer, when everything isΒ so full of life.

Even though I’m very much a city girl, I enjoy enormously wandering in nature every once in a while. And seeing everything so alive and colorful really lifts you up and can take your mind of things for a while. So, I took my camera with me and here are some of the results. I’m really not a nature photographer so don’t expect something breathtakingly professional πŸ™‚ I just feel that when I see something beautiful to me I need to capture it so that I can enjoy it afterwards as well.

IMG_8784

IMG_8805

IMG_8793
In the end, the path to unknown is the best kind of path.

IMG_8838

IMG_8811

IMG_8822 (1)
The squirrels in the conservation area are so tame that they let you come amazingly close. Someone had left an apple there and they were really enjoying it πŸ™‚
IMG_8817 (1)
Really just wanted a change of scenery, ended up photographing and talking to squirrels… I’d call that mission completed.
IMG_8847
“Love the moment and the energy of that moment will spread beyond all boundaries.” Corita Kent

IMG_8832

IMG_8872

IMG_8764

IMG_8860
“Turn your face to the sun and shadows will fall behind you.”
IMG_8802
“Just living is not enough… one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.” H.C. Andersen

This holiday is really much needed and I hope that I can write a bit more now that I have more time, I already have some nice ideas πŸ™‚

And look, I managed to keep it short this time! I see some progress πŸ˜‰Β I hope your summer has started off magnificently and if not, then it surely will. I’ll see you soon ❀

Love,

Julia xxx

4 thoughts on “And now I live again

  1. Paula Brown June 7, 2015 / 4:44 am

    I really enjoyed this post, Julia! Your gram lives in a lovely place. I will look forward to the creativity that often comes from the idle freedom of summer vacation! I always enjoy your perspective on your observations and experiences.
    I feel my soul is better suited for warmer climate as well… I wouldn’t mind living in Virginia realistically, Western Australia in my dreams!πŸ’­πŸŒ΄πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Julia B. June 15, 2015 / 2:31 pm

      Sorry for replying so late! Thank you so much! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed this and the pictures. And yep, hopefully someday both of us will be living somewhere warm πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. directorb July 29, 2015 / 3:50 pm

    Great post and picts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia B. August 13, 2015 / 10:34 pm

      Oh thank you very much!! πŸ™‚ Sorry, I was abroad so I’m replaying terribly late, haha πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

