Delicious sweet potato soup & other things that make me feel good

IMG_8910

Hello you beloved soul reading this!

It’s been a little while but I’m back with a super easy and cheap and creamy and perfect soup recipe so if you want to see that, scroll down. Because first I’m going to just share my thoughts a little as always 🙂

These following spring pics are taken from the Porvoo river. They don't have much to do with the subject but I just think spring is so pretty :)
These following spring pics are taken from the Porvoo river. They don’t have much to do with the subject but I just think spring is so pretty 🙂

You know, I feel like life is like being in a boat at sea (a terrible cliche again, sorry, but that’s the best I can do, haha). And when you’re at sea you really can’t always control everything, no matter how fancy of a boat you have. Unexpected things happen and waves may shake you a little, even a lot. Future can seem like a big, unknown, terrifying, surprising and endless jungle and you really don’t know what to wait for. Familiar feeling, huh? This has many good sides obviously but is also very time- and energy-consuming and stressful. So, at times like what I just described, I’ve found over the (only a few) years I’ve lived, that the best thing to do is to focus on the basics, quite simple things that have been in your life before and that you can count on. Things that keep your feet on the ground when you just want to say to life: ”hey, could you please slow the f**k down?”

IMG_8736

For me, things like reading. I’ve been reading some poetry lately and damn, it feels good to read again after a busy school year (which is almost finished, YAYY!) I’ve always loved poetry and I think it’s perfect for every situation. Makes you wiser, in my opinion. Books overall give me distance, something to compare my own life to and that way sort of see it from above. People who like to read know what I mean. I borrowed Complete Stories of Mark Twain from my grandma and I just can’t wait to get my hands on that one, even though the old English is a bit slower to read.

IMG_8717

Also things like running. Oh running, sometimes makes you feel so incredibly bad but the after-feeling is always worth it. Just a few hours ago I got home from this running event in my home town Porvoo. It was 10 kilometers and I ran it with my very good friend which made it much more bearable. So thanks love if you’re reading this. We weren’t serious about it at all but ended up running it much faster than we thought and the endorphin burst after was aaamazing. I’m so grateful that I some years ago started running more because now it’s the base of all my exercising. It can be very liberating and takes the phrase ”run away from your problems” to a completely new and practical level 😉

IMG_8744

Also, a change of scenery always works. I just visited my lovely grandma who lives two hours away and had the best time in a while. It’s very refreshing to see different faces and places and do things you maybe wouldn’t otherwise. I was a true tourist and went to a museum and also wandered around in nature and photographed. I will make a different post of those pics because I think some of them turned out quite good.

Or then I end up in the kitchen and the world lightens up. That’s just for me, but as far as I’m concerned, cooking is the best way to relax. And that is how I came up with this recipe. My intention was to make sweet potato curry with some rice or something, but then I thought that the coconut milk which I definitely wanted could make it a bit too runny. So, why not make it a soup then? Problem solved, and through that it became the first time ever that I came up with a recipe that worked perfectly on the first time and is now ready to be shared 🙂 It has amazingly few ingredients, is crazy cheap and still turns out incredibly delicious and thick and creamy though it’s completely cream-free and vegan. Try this on most committed meat eaters and they may be surprised.

I tried this when I was at my grandma's and she helped me to photograph it :D
I tried this when I was at my grandma’s and she helped me to photograph it 😀

Or then if you don’t feel like cooking, you can just go and watch Netflix and eat this Marabou’s Oreo chocolate (yes you heard me right, Oreos AND chocolate) which is JUST TOO GOOD!!! Anyway, now the recipe:

Sweet potato-chickpea-coconut soup 

for about 3 persons

one sweet potato

one can of chickpeas

2 dl of coconut milk

about 1 heaped tsp of curry powder (or more if you like it like I do)

1,5 tbs of some vegetable oil

one clove of garlic

fresh basil and parsley (or any other herbs)

optional: spices of your choice (pepper, salt, turmeric…)

Start up by peeling the sweet potato and chopping in into quite small pieces (so that they cook faster). Heat the oil in a pan and add chopped garlic and curry and cook them for about one minute. Important thing is that this way the taste from garlic and curry gets stronger but remember to be careful that you don’t burn them in too high heat. Then add sweet potatoes and cook them for another minute constantly stirring them. Then add water just so that the sweet potatoes are covered. And if you want, you can add some spices to the water like salt and pepper or whatever you like. Then let sweet potatoes cook in boiling water until they are soft and can even break if you try them (you can’t over-cook because we smash this all in the end). For me it took about 15 minutes. Then add the coconut milk and chickpeas and cook for a few minutes. Take away from the stove, add the fresh herbs and then, with a stick blender (or by pouring into a normal blender) blend it until it’s quite smooth. Voila, it’s ready! 🙂

IMG_8906

I’ve been listening to this while I’ve been writing and this song is just too good and true not to be shared. I love Paloma Faith and her lovely voice and great songs that always describe things so accurately. This is one of my faves and I love the music video too since it’s filmed in one of my favorite cities ever, Miami, and has some familiar places.

Love,

Julia xxx

Leave a Reply

