Let the light walk in

IMG_7179

It always comes unnoticed until one day you see something. A flower you thought was dead but still rises from the cold ground towards the sun. Kind of admirable, I guess. I wake up early and wonder why and then it hits me that it’s actually quite light now, the sun woke me up. I can hear birds’ voices in my room, they come through our walls. For me who lives in the northern part of this planet, spring is my favorite surprise gift that comes every year.

IMG_7181

And light. Oh my light. It reveals everything, every pretty and ugly thing that has been hiding all winter. A joy. A fear. A hope. It offers a hand, a new chance, something to wait for. And I take it, whatever it gives me, and you should too.

IMG_7174
There’s a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in. – Leonard Cohen –

One of the most magical moments of the year is the time when I don’t only see the sun, but can feel it as well. A weak ray of light that shines from between the clouds and I absorb it into myself and breath it in and it feels like the closest thing to heaven. The sun is my god, I think.

IMG_5582

And even though it’s just this little light, I hang on to that like a wrecked in the sea and don’t want to let it go in case of it doesn’t come back. But it does, it always does and I’ll wait. I’ve been waiting for the sun for a long time but I always forgive it eventually. Because when it comes it says: ”Hey, I’m worth it.” And it is. It promises something, something good and fresh and exciting.

IMG_6903

I sit in the patio and watch my cat squinting her eyes at the sun and smelling mom’s yellow flowers. It’s quite good now, all this. It’s an end and beginning at the same time. I’ve got Nina Simone stuck in my head. ” It’s a new day, it’s a new dawn, it’s a new life for meee-eeee. And I’m feeling gooooooood.”

Julia xxx

P.S. An exciting adventure is ahead of me tomorrow: I’m leaving to Beijing, China for a week with a group from my school. So this blog will be silent for a little while but when I come back I’ll definitely make a post about my trip and experiences there. I’m so excited!!! 🙂 Until then, have a lovely day where ever you are! ❤

Leave a Reply

