Live and love a little

IMG_5698

I have feet, feet that work. Feet that make me walk through every day and that let me run free, run as hard as I can with music playing in my ears and wind drying the sweat to my face. My feet have walked in gold beaches and in different seas and on the streets of great cities and felt the just cut grass in our garden. Today they allowed me to do yoga and to go for a walk to the freezing spring weather. And I have hands too and I can cook, and write stories and wipe my tears away with them. And they allow me to hug and to hold on to things and people so that they stay in my life and make it brighter.

IMG_5702

I have eyes that see. They have looked the world for almost 18 years now and every new day they let me see new things; good, happy, ugly, sad ones. I can see the world and maybe it can see me. I can see how beautiful it is too, how the sun shines today even though it’s cold and how people are laughing and how the nature is waking up and the snow is melting away and how the sun rises so early these days. I’m quite lucky to see all this, I guess.

IMG_9707

I have a beautiful place to live in with my family, a home. Some place where I can always come back and feel like things haven’t changed although they may have. I have a lovely room filled with things that are so precious to me and that have all their own stories. And I have a cat that lays on my writing table and drinks my glass of water when I’m asleep.

julia2

Around me I have people who matter. I have a family to count on and an annoying sister to watch crappy movies with. I have people to talk to and friends to laugh and cry with. Friends that I’ve known for years. Those that I don’t even really know why I’m friends with, I just am because once we became friends and now I just love them and wouldn’t want it any other way. I have people in my life that I haven’t known for very long but feel like I’ve known them a lifetime. People that I can just be with.

IMG_9689

I have a mind that remembers things. All memories, all the good and beautiful ones and also the painful ones are all stored up there like a big book that just keep getting bigger. I can dig any of those up when I want to.

Those birthdays when the sun always shines and I’m in our garden with my friends eating mud cake under the apple trees.

IMG_5371

And that October night in our summer cottage when I’m laying on the dock by the lake and it’s so dark that all of the stars are visible and so close that the sky feels like a blanket to pull over.

And the first day of school in August after which we went to the market place with my friends and got ice cream and talked about how good this year would be and it really has been quite great.

And those warm summer evenings when I’m sitting on my mom’s Vespa and we’re driving in the countryside and then to the sea and the wind is so strong but still warm and makes me feel free.

And those times a long ago when me and my neighbors play hide and seek and we are all barefoot because it’s summer and how it’s so hard to run in the sand road because of the little stones and how our feet get dirty and almost black but we couldn’t care less.

And all those times when I’m sitting in some beach only staring at the sea and wondering where I’d end up if I now started swimming.

IMG_2195

And those Christmases when my grandma comes over and when we laugh at my sister who’s dressed up as Santa Claus so hard that tears come out of our eyes and so long that our stomachs start to hurt.

I have all those things and thousands more and they are something no one can take away from me. All the good ones make me happy because just remembering them makes me smile and all the bad ones make me happy in a way as well because I did overcome all that.

IMG_6999

Now I can just lay here on my bed with my cat laying on top of my math books. Nope, she just doesn’t care. The sun is shining through the window and it makes her soft fur feel so warm. Am I not the luckiest person to have this little moment now, this very second that won’t ever come again? Maybe we all should just stop for a minute. Think. Breathe. Smile. Live a little.

IMG_7001

Love,

Julia xxx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Appreciation for life is the best thing to read. It’s so inspiring. Thank you 🙂 I hope all of your days are full of thoughts like this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Julia B. says:

      Thank you so very much! 🙂 And I agree, I sort of got the idea for this story because of this very common but quite useless negativity which can be seen almost every day and all the bad news and complaining about things that really don’t matter. So I just wanted to remind myself as well of how well things really are and how precious thing life is when you think of it just for awhile. I’m so happy to hear my message got through. Good and positive day to you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It definitely did 🙂 we all should learn to appreciate the small things because they’re so easy to take for granted. Easier said than done, but so worth learning! Have a great day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Paula Brown says:

    Julia, this post is so full of gratitude! For every big, little, ordinary, and special moment. It is incedibly mindful! I loved your writing and I feel blessed to have read this. Thank you. oxo p.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Julia B. says:

      Paula, thank you so so so much!! 🙂 That was exactly my intention and I’m so glad it made you feel something because that was my goal. Thank you for your kind words, I really appreciate it ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

