Super chocolatey raw vegan bars

IMG_3209

As you may already know, I like stories so naturally almost all of my recipes have one. So yeah, if you’re like ”JUST GIVE ME THE RECIPE!!!” then scroll down 😉

Anyway, I came up with these suuuuuper yummy, gooey, chocolatey bars a bit over a month ago. And to give a little background for those of you who are not Finnish: we second year  high school students in Finland have this ball on February that we practise dances on for weeks and prepare for even longer. It’s a tradition in Finnish high schools, much like a prom, called ”Wanhat” or in English ”The Old” (sounds silly) celebrating that we’ll be the oldest ones in school since the third year students have left for their studying break. So I knew it was going to be a looong day, first we performed to the school and then in the evening to your families and friends. And I know I’m not alone in this but when my blood sugar decreases I become like a different person, not moody or angry like some do, but very tired and quiet and sad. So I thought that I just HAVE TO do some raw goodies for me (and my friends) to keep us going the whole day.

IMG_6258

So I did, and these yummies are packed with energy, the good kind. They are loaded with healthy fats that are found in nuts and chia seeds for example. And some fibre in dates to keep your stomach happy. All the carbs are good and clean and kept me (and hopefully you too) going whenever I felt I needed something to eat. And the most important thing, they taste delicious! Besides the heavenly chocolate flavour, I just love how the chia seeds feel when I’m chewing them 😀 The first time I made these into bars but when trying again I decided to go with a ball shape so really anything goes, they taste the same either way!

You need some flaxseed, cocoa powder, shredded coconut and chia seeds.
You need some flaxseed, cocoa powder, shredded coconut and chia seeds.

So here you go, a very easy and adjustable recipe. If you don’t have some ingredient, don’t worry, replace it or leave it out.

Raw and vegan gooey chocolate bars or balls (about 12 small balls or 6 bars)

7 soft dates

1 dl (about half a cup) of any kind of nuts (I used cashews, almonds, hazelnuts and walnuts)

2 tbls of shredded coconut

1 tbls of chia seeds

2 tbls of flaxseed

1 tbls of raw choocolate powder (or a really dark one works as well)

2 tsp of coconut sugar

2 tbls of agave syrup

a piece of a vanilla bean OR a couple drops of vanilla extact

1 tbls of goji berries (optional)

If you have a vanilla bean, cut a little piece of it, open it with a knife and take the seeds out with it. Then put all ingredients ( I like to start with dates and nuts) into a blender or food processor and blend until it’s quite smooth. A stick mixer could work as well. It takes a while to get smooth especially in a blender, but just be patient and mix with a spoon every once in a while to get it all blended. Then put it into a fridge to cool down for about half an hour or if you’re like me and not patient at all, put it into a freezer for about 15 minutes. Then just form balls or bars or whatever you feel like and you’re ready! And if you don’t eat them all at once (congrats, you resisted the temptation) store them in a fridge.

I always use these fresh and soft dates that are so juicy and they really make the best result.
I always use these fresh and soft dates that are so juicy and they really make the best result.

IMG_6221

IMG_6260

We're having a strange weather phenomenon here in Finland called sunshine. Spring's coming and it makes me so happy.
At the moment we’re having a strange weather phenomenon here in Finland called sunshine 🙂 Spring’s coming and it makes me so happy I had to sit outside on our terrace even though it’s not that warm yet.

And I’ll add here a few photos of me and my friends on the Wanhat-day which was obviously lovely! I felt it really got people together and I had such an amazing time with my friends. And my favourite part was probably the dressing up-part: I made my own hair and my sister did my make-up and a couple of my friends’ make-up as well so we had so much fuzz going on in our house and I enjoyed every second of it. Really one of those day that I’ll always remember with a wide smile on my face 🙂

IMG_3306

IMG_3282
The backyard was like a skating ring a month ago and now it’s all gone.

IMG_3299

IMG_3320

IMG_3420

IMG_3237

IMG_3446

Love,

Julia xxx

4 thoughts on “Super chocolatey raw vegan bars

  1. Paula Brown March 14, 2015 / 3:20 am

    Another great post, Julia! I’m definitely going to try this recipe! Have an awesome weekend, maybe with some more strange phenomenon of sunshine!😉😎

    Like

    • Julia B. March 14, 2015 / 9:45 am

      Thank you Paula! ❤ And if you do try them out please let me know what you think 🙂 And you can be sure I will, it's shining even now and I'm all smiles because of this light 🙂

      Like

  2. LFFL March 22, 2015 / 5:16 pm

    What pretty dresses!!

    Like

    • Julia B. March 22, 2015 / 8:08 pm

      Thank you so much! ❤ Absolutely loved them as well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

